Ranking All The Songs from the Project X Soundtrack


The 2012 movie Project X divided the critics but stormed at the box office, grossing over $100 million worldwide. The soundtrack, which features a compilation of hip hop tracks from the likes of Kid Cudi, Nas, Pusha T, and D12, proved as successful as the film, reaching number 12 on the US Billboard 200 and becoming the 6th highest selling soundtrack of the year. Here’s how we rank all 13 songs from the Project X soundtrack.

13. Tipsy (Club Mix) – J-Kwon


Tipsy first hit the airwaves in 2004 as the lead single from J- Kwon’s debut studio album, Hood Hop. He might not have had a hit since, but this ode to underage drinking was massive, reaching number 2 on both the Billboard Hot 100 and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks chart.

12. Candy – Far East Movement (feat. Pitbull)


Candy got its debut on the Project X soundtrack before later re-appearing on Far East Movement’s fourth album, Dirty Bass. The group collaborated with a slew of artists for the album, including Justin Bieber, Tyga, Cover Drive, and Natalia Kills. On Candy, it’s Pitbull who gets the honor of laying down some lines.

11. Le Disko (Boys Noize Vocal Mix) – Shiny Toy Guns


Le Disko was first released in 2006 as the lead single from Shiny Toy Guns’ album, We Are Pilot. There’s been over a dozen remixes made since, with the Boys Noize Vocal Mix being the one selected for the Project X soundtrack.

10. Ray Ban Vision – A-Trak


Canadian DJ and turntablist A-Trak is widely considered one of the best in the business, with a two-decade-long career that’s seen him earn Grammys, hits, and the honorary title of Global Ambassador of DJ Culture. If you want to see what the fuss is about, check out this 2010 hit featuring CyHi Da Prince.

9. Bitch Betta Have My Money – AMG


It may be littered with causal misogyny and potty talk, but AMG’s debut album, Bitch Betta Have My Money, still managed to make it to number 66 on the Billboard 200 and sell over a million copies. Its title track, which All Music describes as “a classic bit of disrespectful smack-talk,” represents both the biggest hit on the album, and the most memorable track of AMG’s career.

8. Wild Boy – Machine Gun Kelly


An early hit for Machine Gun Kelly, Wild Boy was initially featured on the rapper’s third mixtape Rage Pack, before making a re-appearance on both his debut EP Half Naked & Almost Famous and his debut major-label album, Lace Up. Released as a single in September 2011, it debuted at number 98 on the Billboard Hot 100. It’s since gone on to certify multi-platinum after selling over 2 million copies in the US alone.

7. Pretty Girls (Benny Benassi Remix) – Wale


Wale called in the big guns for his debut album, Attention Deficit, with the likes of Mark Ronson, Cool & Dre, and The Neptunes featuring among the producers and Lady Gaga, Pharrell Williams, and Jazmine Sullivan contributing guest vocals. Pretty Girls, the album’s third and final single, became one of its biggest hits. Produced by Best Kept Secret and featuring cameos from Gucci Mane and Backyard Band’s Weensey, it reached number 56 on Billboard’s Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart.

6. The Next Episode – Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg


Released as a sequel to Dre & Snoop Dog’s huge hit, Nuthin’ but a ‘G Thang, The Next Episode took the duo to number 23 on the Billboard Hot 100 on its release as the third single from Dre’s second studio album, 2001. Kurupt and Nate Dogg also feature, but for some reason, only Snoop Dogg’s name made it to the credits.

5. Nasty – Nas


Nas socred a major hit with this single from Life is Good in 2011, with both Rolling Stone and Rap Gens naming it as one of the best hip-hop songs of the year. Since featuring on the Project X soundtrack, it’s also made its way onto the video game, The Crew.

4. Trouble on My Mind – Pusha T (feat. Tyler, the Creator)


Described by djbooth.net as “a cross-generational collab well worth its prodigious online buzz”, this Pharrell-produced single from Pusha T’s debut helped generate enough interest in Fear of God II: Let Us Pray to send the album to number 8 on the Billboard 200.

3. Pursuit of Happiness (Steve Aoki Remix) – Kid Cuti


Pursuit of Happiness was first released in 2009 as the third single from Kid Cuti’s debut studio album, Man on the Moon: The End of Day. Produced by Ratatat and featuring vocals from MGMT, it became an international hit, reaching number 64 in the UK and number 59 on the US Billboard Hot 100. A year later, DJ Steve Aoki’s remix bought it back to the radio, eventually becoming as popular as the original. Since its release, the song has sold over 2 million downloads.

2. Heads Will Roll (A-Trak Remix) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs


It’s Blitz!, Yeah Yeah Yeahs’s third studio album, was one of the biggest critical successes of 2009. The disco-flavored vibes went down a storm with the music press. Heads will Roll proved particularly popular – released as the album’s second single, it soared straight to number one on the US Dance Singles Sales chart.

1. Fight Music – D12


Fight Music’s themes might a little NSFW, but that doesn’t stop this darkly compelling track from D12’s debut album, Devil’s Night, ranking among the group’s finest accomplishments. In an interview with hotnewhiphop.com, D12 member Denaun Porter revealed the song is a personal favorite of Eminem’s, claiming “Em always said — he still says — that that’s his best vocal performance ever, in his whole career. From the verse to the hook, he felt like that was his best.”

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.