Ranking All the Trey Songz Studio Albums

Trey Songz

After listening to most of Trey Songz’s albums and songs, you will agree that he utilizes the full extent of his voice and sings with power and emotion that has often been mistaken as forceful singing or trying too hard. However, Trey Songz never recognized his vocal abilities until he was fourteen. His musical influences include R.Kelly and Luther Vandross, and he even employed R.Kelly to assist him in producing his 2006 album, Trey Day. Trey Songz has released a total of eight studio albums, and this article will attempt to rank all his albums from the worst to the very best. Here is our ranking of the Trey Songz Studio Albums.

8. Tremaine the Album

A year before the release of Tremaine the Album, Trey Songz was on record saying that he had clear intentions of the album in terms of the visuals, the pictures, and the music. In this album, he indulges us with smooth R&B style music and amazing vocals powered by his usual themes of love and sex. Trey Songz expresses his feelings of love and his desire to quit his playboy lifestyle. This album sounds quite mature, something that most of the fans loved. Although it ranks at position eight in our countdown, there are times we get to see some hints of vintage Trey Songz, who we had to get bored of. In tracks such as “Animal,” and “What are We Here For,” we see Trey Songz experimenting with pop-sounding records which don’t fit him so well. The album peaked at position three on the US Billboard 200 and has been certified gold by the RIAA, selling more than 500,000 units in the US.

7. Chapter V

Most of Trey Songz’s albums seem to read from a similar script, and Chapter V doesn’t tread too far from his past albums either. The album’s intro is the track “Chapter V,” which is similar in style to “Neighbors Know My Name” and kicks off the album in high gear. The sixth track in the album, “2 Reasons,” is like a cringe remake of “Say Aah,” but he has featured T.I this time. The track sees Trey Songz wooing women in one minute and then referring to them as bitches in the next minute.

One of the best songs in the album is “Heart Attack,” which is a top-notch song in terms of production and performance. The track has catchy lyrics that see Trey Songz pour his heart into the emotive chorus. Other great songs that you can check out in the album include “Hail Mary,” which features Lil Wayne and Young Jeezy. You can also check out “Simply Amazing,” which is a song that every woman would like dedicated to them. Overall, Chapter V proves to be a pretty cohesive record, and the fact that Trey Songz decided to stick with Troy Taylor as the producer helps matters. The album debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 Chart and sold 135,000 copies during its first week.

6. Back Home

At number six is Trey Songz’s eighth studio album, Back Home. In this album, Trey Songz goes back to the R&B basics with quality production and impressive vocals with ballad-like songs. In the album, Trey Songz focuses on life at home which has kept the album grounded to the current things going on in his life without much regard for his past. The album features guest appearances from Swae Lee, Davido, and Ty Dolla $ign. Although we can see Trey Songz’s vocal prowess in most of the tracks, the album offers nothing new.

5. I Gotta Make It

The number five album in our ranking of the greatest Trey Songz albums is his debut album, I Gotta Make It. Though he was quite young in terms of his musical career, the album is a great listen with songs that are filled with so much passion. The album’s standout tracks are “Gotta Make It,” which features Twista, and “Gotta Go,” which is the fourth track on the album. The album debuted on the US Billboard 200 at position 20 and was an album that was full of promise.

4. Trey Day

The album starts off with an excellent introduction before we hear Trey Songz displaying his rapping and singing skills with the song “Long Gone Missin’,” which was below average, to be honest. The album contains several charming moments, and the standout song in the album is “Can’t Help but Wait,” which was also his highest-charting single on the US Billboard Hot 100, where it peaked at position 14. It wasn’t until 2010 that “Bottoms Up” charted at position six. The album debuted at number 11 on the Billboard 200 and has been certified gold by the RIAA.

3. Passion, Pain, and Pleasure

This album was released in 2010 following the commercial breakthrough of his 2009 album, Ready. The album was handled by several music producers, including Trey Songz’s mentor, Tray Taylor, Mario Winans, among others. The album opens with the track “Here We Go Again,” which is upbeat and befitting of a rap album. Although there are a couple of tracks that the album could do without, it is solid, and it is one of Trey Songz’s best releases.

2. Trigga

Trigga is Trey Songz’s sixth studio album, released on 1st July 2014. The album featured guest appearances from Nicki Minaj, Justin Bieber, Ty $ign, Juicy J and Mila J. The album had great production, great visual concepts, and equally impressive lyrics. Although the album was well-received by most music critics, it didn’t match the high standards that we associate Trey Songz with, and some critics pointed out that he was starting to run dry of material. The album begins with up-tempo songs such as “Na,Na,” “Foreighn,” and “Touchin, Lovin,” which features Nicki Minaj. The album debuted on the US billboard 200 at number one and spent two weeks in the top ten. The album was also ranked the 58th most popular album of the year on the US Billboard 200 in 2014.

1. Ready

After Chris Brown was distracted by a scandal back in 2009, Trey Songz took advantage and released the album, Ready, which proved to be the pinnacle of his career. The album was quite definitive, and according to the artist himself, it represented what he would be for the rest of his career. Although we were already quite familiar with him from his previous two albums, Ready showed us a more sensual and daring artist with vocal maturity that helped solidify his fanbase. The album was a major success, becoming his highest-charting album on the Billboard 200, where it debuted at number three. The album has some great tracks, such as “Yo Side of the Bed,” which samples “Purple Rain” by Prince, and “I Need a Girl,” which was the lead single from the album.

You can also read:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.