The 10 Best In Flames Songs of All-Time

In Flames

In Flames is a Swedish heavy metal band formed in 1990 in Gothenburg, Sweden. The band has undergone several lineup changes over the years, but vocalist Anders Fridén and guitarist Björn Gelotte have been with it since its inception. In Flames has been categorized as alternative metal, melodic death metal, and metalcore, but the band has experimented with various genres over the years. The band’s best-known songs include “Only for the Weak,” “Take This Life,” and “My Sweet Shadow.” In Flames has released thirteen studio albums, two live albums, three compilation albums, one EP, and thirty-six singles. The band’s latest album, I, The Mask, was released in March 2019. Some of In Flames’ most popular songs include “Pinball Map,” “Deliver Us,” “Come Clarity,” and “The Jester Race.” Here is a list of the 10 best In Flames songs of all time:

10. Zombie Inc. (1999)


Zombie Inc. is the tenth song on In Flames’ second studio album, Colony. One of the band’s earliest death metal songs is filled with fast-paced riffs and shredding solos. It talks about the end of the world and the zombie epidemic that will supposedly bring it about. The instrumentals are aggressive and dark, and Anders Fridén’s vocals are angry and throaty.

9. Cloud Connected (2002)


The opening track to 2002’s Reroute to Remain is one of In Flames’ most enduring anthems. A furious mix of melodic death metal and alternative metal, “Cloud Connected” is one of the band’s most aggressive songs. The song is about the need for connection in the digital age, and its lyrics are sung with rage and passion. It talks about how we are all connected, no matter what.

8. Jotun (1997)


Flames’ most popular and well-known song, “Jotun,” is the opening track from their 1997 album Whoracle. The song is a melodic death metal classic telling a giant who challenges the gods and is ultimately destroyed. The song is heavy, epic, and full of atmosphere, making it one of its signature tracks.

7. My Sweet Shadow (2010)


My Sweet Shadow is one of In Flames’ heaviest and most aggressive songs. It’s also one of their most popular, played live on countless occasions. The song was released as the lead single from In Flames’ sixth studio album, A Sense of Purpose. My Sweet Shadow reached number 5 on the Swedish singles chart and number 2 on the Finnish singles chart.

6. Take This Life (2006)


“Take This Life” is one of In Flames’ most popular and well-known songs. Known for its heavy guitar riffs and melodic chorus, the song was a major hit when released in 2006 as the lead single from Come Clarity’s album. “Take This Life” has been featured in several video games and movie soundtracks and is often played live by the band.

5. Crawl Through Knives (2006)


Come Clarity may be In Flames’ best album for many metal fans. It’s certainly their most popular, and “Crawl Through Knives” is one of the standout tracks. Featuring blistering riffs and Anders Fridén’s trademark soaring vocals, it’s a song that never fails to get the crowd moving. It is also one of the band’s heaviest tracks and is a perfect example of their early melodic death metal sound.

4. Moonshield (1996)


“Moonshield” is the fourth track of The Jester Race, In Flames’ second studio album. Released in 1996, the album has been hailed as one of the greatest melodic death metal albums of all time. “Moonshield” is a classic In Flames song, featuring heavy guitar riffs, melodic solos, and Anders Fridén’s powerful vocals. The song is about a knight who chooses to fight on in the face of death even though he knows he will lose. It is a powerful and emotional song that is sure to get your headbanging.

3. Trigger (2002)


“Trigger” is the third track off of In Flames’ 2002 album Reroute to Remain. The song is about a person who has been hurt so many times that they have built up a wall around their heart to protect themselves. They can no longer feel love or happiness, and they have lost all hope. The song is heavy and melodic, with powerful guitar riffs and a soulful solo. It is a great song to listen to when you are feeling down.

2. Colony (1999)


Formed in 1990, In Flames is one of the most successful and longest-running Swedish metal bands. With a sound that blends alternative metal and melodic death metal, they have released 12 studio albums throughout their career. While they experimented with various styles, their core sound was always aggressive metal. One of the band’s most popular and well-loved songs is “Colony” from their 1999 album of the same name. The song is a furious mix of metal riffs and melodic hooks, with lyrics that deal with the feeling of being alone and isolated.

1. Only for the Weak (2000)


The opening track from In Flames’ fourth studio album, “Only for the Weak,” is an adrenaline-pumping heavy metal masterpiece. The song perfectly introduces the band’s sound, featuring crushing guitars, thunderous drums, and Anders Fridén’s signature vocals. The song talks about how we all have our weaknesses, but we can overcome them through strength and perseverance.


In Flames is a Swedish heavy metal band that has been around since 1990. They have released eleven studio albums and are considered pioneers of the melodic death metal genre. Their songs are full of energy and emotion, and their live performances are always spectacular. If you’re looking for some great heavy metal music, In Flames is a band you should check out. Thanks for reading.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.