The 10 Best Jinjer Songs of All-Time


If you are a fan of modern metalcore, you’ve probably already heard about Jinjer. The Ukrainian band comprises four members: Tatiana Shmailyuk who is the lead vocalist, Roman Ibramkhalilov, Eugene Abdukhanov, and Vladislav Ulasevich. The band was formed in 2009, although they consider 2010 as their official year of formation when Tatiana Shmailyuk took the place of Fatullaiev as the lead vocal singer and Roman Ibramkhalilov became the lead guitarist. In an interview with Metal Horizon, Eugene said that the band doesn’t like being compared with other female-fronted bands. Over the last decade, the band has released three studio albums, three EPs, and a live album. The band describes itself as modern progressive metalcore influenced by music from other genres, including R&B, Soul, funk, jazz, reggae, and hip-hop. They incorporate these styles in different parts of their songs hence creating a stark contrast between them. Some of Jinjer’s notable musical influences include Guano Apes, Anathema, Twelve Foot Ninja, and Lamb of God. Here are the top 10 Jinjer tracks of all time.

10. Home Back


“Home Back” is the seventh single from Jinjer’s hit studio album, “Macro.” The lyrics have been written by Tatiana Shmailyuk, whose lyrical prowess is clearly seen throughout the track. The song is about the upheaval and unrest caused by conflict, all of which Tatiana has witnessed, having come from the Donetsk region of Ukraine. The band’s bassist Eugene goes on to say, “War…war never changes and it never stops”…” Imagine thousands of refugee children around the globe singing at once: I want my home back!”

9. Words of Wisdom


“Words of Wisdom” is the third track from Jinjer’s 2016 album “King of Everything.” The song’s message is about awaking the consciousness within us and breaking the boundaries of censorship and ignorance. The track is an explosive blend of groove metal and a hardcore touch flavored with progressive elements. Though the ever-shining light of Tatiana is obvious, the track emphasizes every band member, and it is incredible how they all share the spotlight in the song.

8. Perennial


Most metalcore fans will agree with me that “Perennial” was quite an improvement from the previous tracks released by Jinjer. “Perennial” was a track from their EP dubbed “Micro.” The track was released on 10th January 2019, and it was written by Tatiana Shmailyuk.

7. Judgement and Punishment


Listening to “Judgement and Punishment” will get you amazed about how Jinjer switches from death metal to cool reggae within no time. The song was released in August 2019 from the band’s album “Macro.” The track is about how we are quick to react to issues because we don’t understand them. It explains that it is in our innate nature to attack or destroy things that we do not understand or things that we question. However, since all actions have a reaction, we sometimes find it too hard to bear the consequences of our actions. It is therefore important for us to first understand before we judge.

6. Mediator


“Mediator” is perhaps Jinjer’s latest single. It is the last track of the band’s forthcoming album “Wallflowers.” While their last song, “Vortex,” was a little soft with prog-like melodies, “Mediator” takes as to the days of classic heavy metal. The track has some fiery metal feel as Tatiana Shmayluk’s fierce growl takes the song to a whole new level. This song goes to show why Jinjer is taking the metal scene by storm recently.

5. Vortex

Another song from Jinjer’s forthcoming album, “Wallflowers,” which is scheduled to be released on 27th August 2021, “Vortex,” is a powerful track that fully displays the band’s hypnotic and melodic grooves as well as the modern tech metal. According to the band, “Vortex” is a story that is told through a perfectly balanced song that deserves the perfect video to match it.

4. Retrospection


You would be mistaken to think that this is a normal brutal metal song talking about just anything. However, no matter how brutal its sounds, “Retrospection” is a song dedicated to parents for their love. Though the song begins with Tatiana singing in Ukrainian, it later switches to English and has been regarded by the band as one of their most personal songs. The track excellently switches from quiet and slow moments to brutal riffing, and it is a song that even non-metal fans would appreciate.

3. Noah


“Noah” is the fifth single from Jinjer’s hit album “Macro.” The track is written by Tatiana, who writes from a perspective of if Noah could not succeed in saving the earth from the flood. The track features some cool vocals, deep growls, and loud drums. According to Tatiana, Noah is the most exciting track from the album.

2. Pit of Consciousness


According to Tatiana, “Pit of Consciousness” is a track about how the situations we go through affect our mental well-being. This track was released in 2019 from their hit album, “Macro.” The band members related with the song since they felt as if their lives had changed and moved too fast due to years of touring; hence they felt like “foreigners to themselves.”

1. Pisces


Released in 2016, Pisces has turned Jinjer from a promising underground metal band to one of metal’s biggest hopes for the future. The track is contained in the band’s 2019 album, titled “Macro.” As Jinjer’s vocal singer Tatiana alludes, they did not expect the track to be popular among their fans. She says that their popularity due to the track goes against the idea of the song “Pisces.” Over the years, the track has increased in popularity, and it has earned them more Spotify streams than any other song that they have done.

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. Have you listened to Jinjer at all? “Who is Gonna Be The One”, “Sit Stay Roll Over” are two of the heaviest and best songs they ever did. Hands down though, “I Speak Astronomy” is their #1 overall best song, from how tight the band plays to Tatiana’s fantastic vocals and lyrics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.