Sword Art Online Order and Easy Guide to Watch the Anime Series

Sword Art Online is one of the highly-anticipated and biggest anime series worldwide. Until today they had 86+ episodes, 1 OVA Series, 6 TV installments, 2 Movies, and 10 specials.

This is a Japanese anime series that also belongs to the sci-fi genre, created by Reki Kawahara and produced by A-1 Pictures studios. After their successful sessions of the anime, the series has going to be one of the most popular anime series on the streaming platforms. Normally, Netflix owns the right of the series but this month ‘Sword Art Online‘ is gonna leave on the platform.

What’s the story of the “Sword Art Online” anime series?

Here’s the synopsis:

“The story begins in the year 2022, a new video game called Sword Art Online (SAO for short) has just been released. The latest technology (the NerveGear) allows a player to be “literally in the game”. Beta tester and solo player Kirito re-enters this game. He then meets and befriends a newbie player named Klein. Soon, all the game’s secrets spill from the shadows…

After SAO is finally over, everyone is finally able to relax and just enjoy playing their favorite games and MMORPGs. But out of nowhere, Kirito is asked to meet with a government agent who had previously investigated SAO. Kirito was then informed of a man seemingly killing players in the real world, by shooting them in a game. Then Kirito decides to investigate this. He enters the game Gun Gale Online, as usual. He befriends another player in GGO. Then secrets they’re searching for fall right at their feet.”

Easy Guide to “Sword Art Online” in Order

Series order:

  • Season 1 (2012)
  • Season 2 (2014)
  • Alternative: Gun Gale Online (2018)
  • Season 3, Part 1: Sword Art Online: Alicization (2018–19) / Part 2: Sword Art Online: Alicization – War of Underworld (2019–20) / Part 3: Sword Art Online: Alicization – War of Underworld Part 2 (2020)
  • Progressive (release date not confirmed yet)

Movies order:

  • Extra Edition (2013)
  • Ordinal Scale (2017)

ONAs order:

  • Fatal Bullet: The Third Episode – Pilot-ban (2018)

Specials order:

  • Sword Art Online: Sword Art Offline (2013)
  • Extra Edition (2013)
  • Extra Edition (2014)
  • Debriefing (2014)
  • Sword Art Offline II (2014)
  • Ordinal Scale – Sword Art Offline (2017)
  • Fatal Bullet: The Third Episode (2018)
  • Alternative: Gun Gale Online – Refrain (2018)
  • Alicization – War of Underworld Reflection (2018)
  • Alicization – War of Underworld Recap (2020)

Full list of chronological order

  • Volume 1: Chapters 1 – 3
  • Volume 8: Chapter 3
  • Sword Art Online Progressive Volumes 1 – 7 (Volume 7, upcoming March 2021)
  • Volume 2: Chapter 4
  • Volume 2: Chapter 1
  • Volume 8: Chapter 1
  • Volume 2: Chapter 2
  • Volume 1: Chapter 4 – 16
  • Volume 22: Chapter 1
  • Volume 1: Chapter 17
  • Volume 2: Chapter 3
  • Volume 1: Chapter 18 – 25
  • Volume 3: Fairy Dance
  • Volumes 4 – 6
  • Volume 8: Chapter 2
  • Volume 7
  • Volume 9
  • Volume 22: Chapters 2 – 4
  • Volumes 10– 18
  • Volume 19 – 20 (side story to the Alicization arc)
  • Volume 21
  • Volume 23 – 25

Book franchise order

  • Volume 1: Aincrad
  • Volume 2: Aincrad
  • Volume 3: Fairy Dance
  • Volume 4: Fairy Dance
  • Volume 5: Phantom Bullet
  • Volume 6: Phantom Bullet
  • Volume 7: Mother’s Rosario
  • Volume 8: Early and Late
  • Volume 9: Alicization Beginning
  • Volume 10: Alicization Running
  • Volume 11: Alicization Turning
  • Volume 12: Alicization Rising
  • Volume 13: Alicization Dividing
  • Volume 14: Alicization Uniting
  • Volume 15: Alicization Invading
  • Volume 16: Alicization Exploding
  • Volume 17: Alicization Awakening
  • Volume 18: Alicization Lasting
  • Volume 19: Moon Cradle
  • Volume 20: Moon Cradle
  • Volume 21: Unital Ring I
  • Volume 22: Kiss and Fly
  • Volume 23: Unital Ring II
  • Volume 24: Unital Ring III
  • Volume 25: Unital Ring IV

Should you start watching Sword Art Online?

It is a really fun and exciting anime series to watch these days. So if you want to tear up in laughs while you are wandering around the adventures, well, this is the one for you. There might be tons of episodes and seasons which might scare you.

But if you follow the guide there will be no confusion and the episodes will flow like a river, I hope. It starts a little slow at first but as you go on you will see the action and the comedy going up along with. You will really enjoy watching the SAO anime series.

Now also all of the episodes in season 4 released and we are waiting for more.

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Metallica and Judas Priest Headline Louder Than Life 2021
Metallica and Judas Priest to Headline Louder Than Life 2021 Festival
motionless in white
Motionless In White Releases Synthwave Edition of Classic “Voices”
How The Scorpions “Virgin Killer” Set the Bar for Scandal
What is NFT and How Can It Help The Music Industry?
Sabaton Releases A Lyric Video For "Defence Of Moscow"
Sabaton Releases A Lyric Video For “Defence Of Moscow”
The 27 Club: Artists Who Lived Fast and Died Young
The Sad Story Behind The Beatles “Let It Be” Lyrics
The True Meaning Behind Leonard Cohen’s Song “Hallelujah”
KISS Bassist Gene Simmons Recalls His First Meeting With AC/DC's Angus Young
KISS Bassist Gene Simmons Recalls His First Meeting With AC/DC’s Angus Young
Dino Cazares Doesn't Think The Classic Lineup of Fear Factory Will Come Back
Dino Cazares Doesn’t Think The Classic Lineup of Fear Factory Will Come Back
Mikkey Dee Tells of His Last Conversation with Lemmy Kilmister
Mikkey Dee Recalls His Last Conversation with Lemmy Kilmister
KISS Frontman Paul Stanley Gives Advice to His Younger Self
KISS Frontman Paul Stanley Gives Advice to His Younger Self
The 10 Best Trivium Songs Of All-Time
The 10 Best System Of A Down Songs Of All-Time
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Young Buck
The Five Worst Beatles Songs of All-Time