The 10 Best Death From Above 1979 Songs of All-Time

Death from Above

Death From Above 1979 started in 2000 in Toronto, Canada, after Jesse F. Keeler and Sebastien Grainger met. It wasn’t until 2004 that they added 1979 to appease the DFA label. The two stayed a duo to explore music to the fullest and experiment with various sounds, including synthesized drums. According to All Music, “they were among the most celebrated indie bands making dancy, debauched noise in the early 2000s. Overall, their music is a combination of punk, hard rock, and dance. Since their start, the pair has toured with groups like Nine Inch Nails and Queens of the Stone Age. Their album “Romance Bloody Romance” dropped in 2005, and shortly after that, the duo broke up. The pair began working on individual projects; Keeler with producer AI-P in MSTRKRFT, and Grainger started a solo career using “Sebastien Grainger & the Mountains.” Five years later, the two became friends again, even though they didn’t start recording again until six years later, in February 2011. For their comeback show, they played at the Coachella Festival. It was a start of a series of tours. In 2014, they released their first single after nine years and an album in autumn of the same year. Dave Sardy produced “THe Physical World,” which made the Billboard Top 10. Throughout their career, they have amassed a following and released numerous great songs. These are the 10 Best Death From Above 1979 songs of all time.

10. Dead Womb


Although Grainger later wrote a scathing Medium post about the song, it has a powerful message. Even though some pretend not to, we’ve already rooted for a villain a time or three. Throughout the music, you hear a series of beats that lends itself pitch perfectly to the song’s overall mood. The song is still a part of their live shows, mainly because they still feel it’s socially relevant. Essentially, it’s part of the latest trend of callout culture.

9. Freeze Me


Despite its chilly title, the song is one of the group’s only love songs. However, Death From Above 1979 puts their twist on the music, creating a socially relevant tune about how love has changed and not always for the better. It’s also one of the fastest-written songs in the group’s catalog. Corey Adam filmed the video in Los Angeles. Yet, instead of keeping with the song’s overall theme, he made it about bodybuilders.

8. Virgins


The song shifts between mellow and intense, and it’s comparable to a song by Nine Inch Nails with a touch of the Black Keys. Much like other songs, the group experimented with a cross-genre of music, even incorporating some Funkadelic. Another thing about this song that makes it so epic is Grainger’s drumming which shifts flawlessly from electronic to softer. Everything about it is a wild ride and an incredible journey.

7. Modern Guy


According to a Songfacts interview with the duo, this song was their first recording. It started with the first line and took off from there. Both declined to interpret the song wanting the listener to take away a personal message unique to them. One thing they disclosed is the second line is a Polish Proverb. One of the main influences on this song was Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are A Changin.

6. Outrage! Is Now


This is the title track of their album released in 2017. It’s another selection from their catalog about current events and how people are constantly picking fights on Social Media. Some of the lyrics illuminate how exhausting it is when people spend too much time engaging in negativity and feel the need to express their opinion on something they have little or no knowledge of. Moreover, it’s a cautionary tale about not letting small things rile you up.

5. If We Don’t Make It, We’ll Fake It


One of the biggest standouts is the guitar riffs. Death From Above is known for its blazing instrumentation, and this song lets it loose. The combination of bass and synthesizer alongside powerful vocals and drumming will amp you up.

4. Always On


Some remember a time when people didn’t always connect via a phone or other electronic device, or you had to wait at least an hour to find out if any of your pictures turned out. It’s also the topic of this song. It began when Grainger talked to his wife about how everyone feels the need to be connected all the time. Interestingly, he said that if Kurt Cobain came back to life, he’d be gone in a day. He didn’t further elaborate on the statement. Yet, it’s interesting to think how much culture and music have changed.

3. Trainwreck


Grainger certainly influenced this song. After all, the rumor has it he was born during a trainwreck. The accident was part of the reason Missiagua Ontario’s economy collapsed the same year. Most of the lyrics are a metaphor for the situation since he doesn’t have any personal memories about the day.

2. One+One


This song was part of Death From Above’s second album after almost a decade on their album, “OUtrage,” released in 2017. The bridge of the song is a huge standout, heavy on the harmonica. Much like other songs, they finish the piece with a crescendo. According to Stereogum, Grainger released a statement calling One+One a follow-up to their song “Romantic Rights.”

1. Romantic Rights


This song was the lead single from “You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine.” For some fans, it was the first song they heard from the group. Keeler uses a combination of low bass with a more pronounced sound. Grainger keeps the energy going with driving drum licks and near primal vocals. Throughout the song, it shifts between softer portions and a vocal explosion.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.