The 10 Best Aqua Songs of All-Time

Aqua is a Danish-Norwegian Dance-pop and Europop band that rose to fame after their 1997 multi-platinum crossover and hit single “Barbie Girl.” The group was formed in 1989, formerly Joyspeed, and became internationally known in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Aqua has released three albums: Megalomania in 2011, Aquarius in 2000, and Aquarium in 1997.

According to Playback, the band has sold about 33 million singles and albums, making them the most successful Danish band ever. Aqua’s band members include; guitarist Claus Norreen, keyboardist Soren Rasted, and vocalists Lene Nystrom and Rene Dif. Here, we will discuss the 10 best Aqua songs of all time:

10. Back to the ’80s

The song “Back to the 80s” is a song by the Europop band Aqua that was written by members Claus Norreen, Soren Rasted and released on May 25, 2009. This was their first single track after eight years, following the launch of their 2001 single titled ”We Belong to the Sea.” This song was also released as a CD single in France on November 9, 2009.

The lyrics of this song mention several celebrities from the 1980s, such as Miami Vice, Michael Jackson, Rocky, Ronald Reagan, The Terminator, and many others. This single topped the Danish Singles Chart for about six consecutive weeks.

9. My Mamma Said

“My Mamma Said” is a hit song by the pop band Aqua that was written by members Lene Nystrom and Soren Rasted. This track was featured in the 2009 greatest hits album that followed the release of the song ‘Back to the ’80s.’ The lyrics of this song mainly talk about the considerations and emotions following the death of the narrator’s mother.

The music video was released on October 23, 2009, under Elektron Studios. In the music video, four of the band’s members can be seen seated around a table amid a bed filled with dry leaves. ”My Mamma Said” was listed No.11 on the Danish Singles Chart. In 2010, the track was certified gold by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry after selling 7,500 copies.

8. Roses Are Red

“Roses Are Red” is a song by Danish-Norwegian dance-pop and Europop Aqua that became the second single release and the first song under the name Aqua from their previous name Joyspeed.

According to AllMusic, the track was released in September 1996 and was featured in the 1997 studio debut album titled Aquarium. The single was successful, topping the Denmark Singles Chart, No.2 in Norway, and No.5 in Sweden.

7. Around the World

The song ”Around the World” is a song by Aqua featured in their second studio album,” Aquarius.” This track became the band’s final release in the United Kingdom before splitting in mid-2001.

”Around the World” was initially known as ”Larger than Life” but was renamed after the American band Backstreet Boys released a song with the same title in 1999. This song was released on April 25, 2000, and peaked at No.26 on the U.K. singles chart and No.4 on the Danish Singles Chart.

6. Doctor Jones

”Doctor Jones” is a song by Danish Europop band Aqua that becomes their fourth single after the release of the hit song ”Barbie Girl.” This song is across the globe on different dates; the first release is in October 1997.

In Australia in December 1997, topping their charts for seven consecutive weeks. The song ‘Doctor Jones’ is among the top 10 songs in 11 countries, topping the music charts of Ireland, Italy, and Croatia.

5. Lollipop (Candyman)

”Lollipop (Candyman)” is a song by the Danish-Norwegian Europop band Aqua that became their fifth overall single featured in their 1997 album Aquarium.

This song is one of the band’s favorite songs, but fails to reach the outstanding success of previous singles such as ”Doctor Jones,” ”My Oh My,” and ”Doctor Jones.” After its release, ”Lollipop (Candyman)” is their second top-40 hit song in the United States, peaking at Number 23.

4. Cartoon Heroes

”Cartoon Heroes” is a song by Danish-Norwegian dance-pop band Aqua that is also in their second studio album Aquarius. This song was first released on January 1, 2000, and later as a single track on January 31, 2000.

After selling millions of copies, the song topped Denmark Singles Charts, earning a quadruple-platinum sales certification by IFPI after two days. According to Ranker, the track ”Cartoon Heroes” was listed as the highest-selling single in Denmark as of 2000. The song also topped the charts in Norway, Spain, and Italy.

3. My Oh My

The song ”My Oh My” is by Europop and the dance-pop band Aqua. Like most of the band’s previous tracks, this single features amazing vocals from Rene Dif and Lene Nystrom.

The accompanying music video for this song features four of the band’s members on a pirate ship, with Lene with ‘pirates’ before overpowering them and continuing their treasure hunt. This is one of the five Aqua music videos that Peder Pedersen directed. The song ”My Oh My” reached Number Six on the U.K. Singles Chart.

2. Turn Back Time

“Turn Back Time” is a single by the Danish Europop group Aqua that became their seventh overall single. It is in the 1997 album Aquarium. This is a slow-paced song and elegantly showcases Lene Nystrom’s powerful vocals.

This song topped many charts in several countries. This includes the United Kingdom, Scotland, No.2 in Hungary, New Zealand, No.10 in Australia, and No.14 on the RPM Top Singles chart in Canada.

1. Barbie Girl

”Barbie Girl” is undeniably the most popular song by the Norwegian-Danish band Aqua. This song is from April 1997 and features as the third single on their studio album Aquarium. ”Barbie Girl” is by Claus Noreen, Lene Nystrom, Claus Norreen, and Soren Rasted and produce by Johnny Jam. The song comes after one of the band’s members Soren Rasted spots the Barbie dolls in Denmark.

This track popularizes dance pop internationally after topping most charts. Especially in the United Kingdom, where it is No.1 for four consecutive weeks. It also peaks at No.7 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, making this song the band’s only hit song to reach the top 10 on the U.S. Hot 100 chart.

You can also read:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.